Wrestling Lacrosse
HYAA Home Page

Modified 9/23/2018


Travel Basketball Tryouts for Boys 3rd Grade and Girls 4th Grade coming soon

HYAA will be holding travel team tryouts for the Boys 3rd grade and for the Girls 4th grade at the end of September and early October (exact schedule listed below). With sufficient interest, qualified coaching volunteers and available gym time we will also consider forming B teams based on the tryouts. Travel teams are highly competitive, there will need to be some cuts as part of the evaluation process and there is no guaranteed playing time. In addition, travel players are expected to attend a minimum of 75% of their practices and games, failure to achieve this minimum level of participation can significantly affect playing time.

You must complete the online registration form no later than Friday, September 21st.

Travel Basketball Tryout Schedule

The tryout schedule occasionally changes due to unforeseen conflicts, please check back throughout the month to ensure you have the right times.

Tryout 1
Tryout 2
Boys 3
Fri 9/28 | 6:00-7:30 | Village New
Fri 10/5 | 5:00-6:30 | Village New
Girls 4
Tue 9/25 | 6:30-8:00 | Village New
Tue 10/2 | 6:30-8:00PM | Village New

Travel Basketball Tryout Guidance

  1. Each tryout will consist of two 90 minute sessions.
  2. Participants are strongly encouraged to participate in both days of the tryout.
  3. B teams, if formed, will be picked based upon the two sessions (not separate tryouts).
  4. Players should arrive 15 minutes before the start time to warm up.
  5. Players must wear the jersey color and number that they entered on the registration form so that the player can be quickly and accurately identified.
  6. Parents who want to watch the tryout are asked to sit in the bleachers and refrain from cheering and coaching the players during the tryout.
  7. Selection is based upon a number of factors that include dribbling, speed, agility, shooting, teamwork, “coachability”, defensive skills, as well as overall basketball acumen.
  8. Selection is made by 1-2 independent evaluators (usually a commissioner) in tandem with the coach (if known). If the coach is not yet known, then the selection will be made solely by the independent evaluators.

Travel Basketball Coaching Application

HYAA has an open coaching application process for all its travel basketball teams. If you have an interest in coaching one of the teams, please submit your coaching application to John Polivka at John.Polivka@comcast.net by September 21st.


schedules for ALL grades

see the full schedule for any given day

Indian Hill Cafetorium

Holmdel HS Main and New Gyms


Click here to log your games


Commissioners John Critchley
Brian Hynes
John Polivka - Head Commissioner
Jay Romano
Brendan Sharpe

League Presidents Clinic TBD
Boys 1st TBD
  Boys 2nd TBD
  Boys 3rd TBD
  Boys 4th TBD
Boys 5th/6th TBD
Boys 7th/8th TBD
Girls 1st/2nd TBD
Girls 3rd/4th TBD
Girls 5th/6th TBD
Girls 7th/8th/9th/10th TBD
Director of Officials Jeanne Toomey

2018/19 CALENDAR

Registration Begins - Teamsnap registration form Sep 21
Early Registration Ends Oct 7
Rutgers S.A.F.E.T.Y. Course Oct 3 - reserve a seat
Registration Ends TBD
Coaches / League Presidents Meeting
Satz Cafeteria - 7pm
Oct 30
Practices Start Nov 12
Referee Clinics
>> New refs need to attend all 3
>> Returning refs need to attend 1
Games Start Dec 10
Playoffs Start - grade 3 and up Feb 11
March Madness TBD

Injury Report Form

In case of an injury sustained during an HYAA event, please print and complete the Injury Report Form and return it to the HYAA office. Please complete all relevant parts of the form.


All Leagues - General Rules
League Specific Rules

Player Ranking Template

Basketball Commissioners' Responsibilities

Travel Teams

Here are some great web sites with coaching info and ideas for drills.
Check 'em out!